International Workshop on Quantum Circuits in 2D Materials (QC2DM 2022)



This by invitation only workshop, will bring together a number of Canadian and internationally recognized experts in 2D materials, with a focus on the use of quantum dots for quantum information processing. The workshop will be held at the University of Ottawa,  starting June 1 and ending on June 4 2022. The workshop is supported by NSERC Strategic QC2DM Project, uOttawa Chair in Quantum Theory of Materials, Nanostructures and Devices, uOttawa Center for 2D Materials ( and the National Research Council of Canada.  If you are interested in the workshop please contact one of the organizers.


June 1-4, 2022 (YES, NEXT SUMMER)


University of Ottawa Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Building, Rm 117. Campus map is here.


(Preliminary list as of April 15 2021)(alphabetical order)

  1. Alex Bogan, uOttawa/NRC, Ottawa, Canada
  2. Shun-Jen Cheng, NCTU Taiwan
  3. Juan Ignacio Climente , uJaume, Castillon, Spain
  4. Klauss Ensslin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  5. Detlev Grutzmacher, Peter Grunberg Institute, FZJ,Germany
  6. Devrim Guclu, IIT, Izmir, Turkey
  7. Alexander Holleitner, TUM Munich, Germany
  8. Chang-Yu Hsieh, Tencent QLabs, Shenzhen, PR China
  9. Joanna Jadczak,  WUST, Wroclaw,Poland
  10. Wlodek Jaskolski, UMK,Torun, Poland
  11. Brian Leroy, uArizona, Tucson, AZ, USA
  12. Bruce McCombe,uBuffalo, Buffalo, USA
  13. Allan MacDonald, uTexas, Austin,TX, USA
  14. Francois Peeters, uAntwerp, Belgium
  15. Daniela Pfannkuche, uHamburg, Germany
  16. Gabriel Poulin-Lamarre, Dwave, Vancouver, Canada
  17. Marek Potemski, GHMFL and uWarsaw, France/Poland
  18. Xong Xong Song, Hefei USTC, PR China
  19. Christoph Stampfer, uAachen, Germany
  20. Ludmila Szulakowska, UBC, Vancouver, Canada
  21. Klaas-Jan Tielrooij, NCN2, Barcelona, Spain
  22. Hongxi Xu, PekingU, Bejing, PR China
  23. Ke Wang, uMinnesota, USA
  24. Arek Wojs, WUST,Wroclaw, Poland


  •  Wednesday, June 1 2022-18.00-19:30     Reception: Advanced Research Complex (ARC) Lobby
  • Thursday, June 2 2022 , 9:00-17:00  Program TBD,  STEM 117
  • Friday, June 3 2022,  9:00-17:00 , Program TBD, STEM 117
  • Friday, June 3 2022, 18:30-20:30, invited speakers dinner, 1 Elgin Restaurant, National Art Center
  • Saturday, June 4 2022, 10:00-12:00 ,Program TBD, STEM 117
  • List of abstracts TBD


Registration for invited participants is $200 , for students $100 (note 13% tax not included). The links to  english or french  registrations can be found here.


  • Participants are responsible for their own accommodations. June is a very busy month. We strongly encourage booking your accommodation well in advance. We suggest several hotels, all within walking distance from uOttawa and available via  Novotel, Westin, Chateau Laurier, Les Suites, Lord Elgin, Cartier Place Suite Hotel and many more. There are also accommodations available on Campus at uOttawa Residences,, map here .


  • Pawel Hawrylak, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Adina Luican-Mayer, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Jean-Michel Menard , uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Louis Gaudreau, NRC, Ottawa, Canada
  • Andrew Sachrajda, NRC, Ottawa, Canada
  • Sergei Studenikin, NRC, Ottawa, Canada
  • Marek Korkusinski, NRC, Ottawa, Canada
  • Yasser Saleem, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Amintor Dusko , uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Ryan Plumadore, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Justin Boddison-Chouinard, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Jacob Manalo, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada
  • Abdulmenaf Altintas, uOttawa, Ottawa, Canada


NSERC strategic grant for projects  QC2DM; uOttawa Office of Vice President for Research; uOttawa Faculty of Science; uOttawa Research Chair in Quantum Theory of Materials, Nanostructures and Devices; National Research Council Canada (NRC); NAWA-Narodowa Agencja Wymiany Akademickiej; Embassy of the Republic of Poland in Ottawa